The 2016 WMC McLellan Competition for Solo Performance with the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra was held April 22nd, 2016 at 7:30 p.m. at the Jubilee Place Auditorium of MBCI, 180 Riverton Avenue, Wpg, MB.  There were three finalists performing for a very appreciative audience!  Wow!  What a show!

Congratulations Caitlin Wood – soprano

Winner of the 2016 WMC McLellan Competition.


Caitlin took home a cheque for $10,000.

Soprano Caitlin Wood grew up in St. Albert, Alberta where she quickly developed her love of music and performing.  An alumni of the University of Manitoba and a recent graduate of the Toronto Opera School under the tutelage of Mary Morrison, Caitlin was the 2013 recipient of the Richard Bradshaw Graduate Fellowship in Opera.  She has performed in many productions over the years, most recently in 2015/2016 she was Mary in Pacific Opera Victoria’s school tour production of Mary’s Wedding, and was the Soprano soloist in Carmina Burana with the Okanagan Symphony.

 In second place was Gregory Lewis – violin. 


Gregory took home a cheque for $6000.

Violinist Gregory Lewis grew up in Thunder Bay, Ontario, and began studying violin at the age of 5.  He is now pursuing his Bachelor’s Degree in Violin Performance at the University of Manitoba with Dr. Oleg Pokhanovski.  Since moving to Winnipeg for his undergraduate studies, Gregory has quickly established himself as a prominent soloist in Central Canada.

In third place was Jaena Kim – flute.


Jaena took home a cheque for $4000.

Flutist Jaena Kim is currently studying at the Schulich School of Music with Denis Bluteau.  She began her studies at age six and debuted with the WSO at age 13.  Since then she has performed as a soloist with them on numerous occasions as well as with the Winnipeg Youth Symphony Orchestra and the Winnipeg Wind Ensemble.

It was a fantastic evening of jaw dropping talent accompanied by the always wonderful

Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Julian Pellicano.

The three finalists appeared with the WSO in the Final Competition Concert on Friday, April 22nd, 2016 and each gave a fabulous solo performance! Congratulations to each of them!


Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra


(left to right)  John Greer, Dr. Michael Kim, Holly Harris, Jaena Kim, Gregory Lewis, Caitlin Wood, Julian Pellicano, Carol Gamby, Diane Kubas and Tom Wiebe.

John Greer, Dr. Michael Kim and Tom Wiebe – jurors

Holly Harris – jury chair

Julian Pellicano – conductor WSO

Carol Gamby – Competition Convenor

Diane Kubas – WMC President

Our evening’s Master of Ceremonies – Ms. Claudia Garcia de la Huerta!


                              2016 WMC McLellan Competition Winners


                                       2016 WMC McLellan Competition Winners